Even the Rain Couldn’t Keep Me From Exploring

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was my second Friday night in PA, and I was determined to go exploring. Rain would not best me. So, armed with a rain jacket, boots, and a skirt, I went exploring, and discovered a river that runs underneath the building where I work and a cute little bar called Guppy’s.

Guppy’s ended up being the highlight of my night. I ordered their Happy Hour Special-the Conshy Crush.A little secret about the Conshy Crush, is that in contains Tang. Yup, you read that right, TANG. Who knew that orange powdered drink from the 80 was still around?

For dinner, I ordered the Caprese Burger.  It  was one of the best I’ve ever had. Made with fresh (unfrozen) meat, mozzarella, grilled onions, tomatoes, arugula, pest, and balsamic vinaigrette, this tasty treat satisfied my Greek food craving. 🙂

Meeting people ended up being easier than I thought. Within seconds of pulling up a seat at the bar, I started talking with the regulars, and met a nice guy who is very connected to the local soccer network. He gave me a list of places that I could look for intramural leagues, and offered to introduce me to people and teams.

I left around 7:30 so that I could hit the gym before it closed, but came back to the bar after. The party was still going and a girl had joined the group. Of coarse, she and I started talking, and despite the 8-year age difference, we found we had a lot in common–including our dread for shopping. We ended up hanging out until around 11:30, at which point this old lady was tired and ready for bed.

It felt good to go out and meet people. I had a great time and am looking forward to more adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

