2014 Recap

wpid-20140726_182848.jpgwpid-img_20141008_185031.jpg

2014 didn’t end as I expected it would. I began the year living in the one square-mile town of Conshohocken, PA and ended it living in Arlington, VA and working in Washington DC.

This year, I watched one friend successfully battle cancer and felt the loss of another taken by it.

I witnessed the love and adoration in several friend’s eyes as they pledged their life to one another, and watched as others drifted apart from each other.

Together, my siblings and I zip-lined on the longest and second highest zip line in the Western Hemisphere, and hiked through the Puerto Rican jungle in the rain.

I was lucky enough to spend the summer playing soccer and biking along some of the most beautiful fields and trails that Pennsylvania has to offer, and got to bask in the summer sun in a way only school-age children do.

Both of my younger siblings came to visit me at the times I needed them most, and my oldest sibling and I were able to finish a half marathon together.

I made several new friends at the pool, discovered the power of yoga, and fell in love with the neighborhood feel of Conshohocken, PA. From the running club, to scoops, to the local coffee shops, living there was like living in a dream–even if it was a bit short-lived.

2014 turned out to be loneliest and happiest year of my life. It also turned out to be the most rewarding. I learned that no matter where you go, or what you’re going through, there is always someone rooting for you.

I’ve come to believe that we’re all tethered together in a sort of energy that rises or calls us to one another when we’re needed or need each other the most.

This year, I was surprised time and again by people who had my back, even when I didn’t have my own. When wronged, and I was willing to back away without a fight, other’s fought and won victories for my behalf. For those lessons, I will always be grateful, because it restored the flame in my soul that had dimmed several years ago and reminded me why life is worth fighting for.

This year, I felt the support of true friends who rallied behind me in a true showing of the mostly loyal support when life took an unexpected downturn. I felt the warmth of a new friendship develop from an old acquaintanceship, and felt the love of my family from coast to coast. In short, I learned that no matter how away I live, I am never really alone. They–my family and friends are always watching and rooting for me–even when I loose faith in myself.

As I look back on the past year I think of how much life has changed and how much I have to look forward to. I am beginning the year having taken 10 years worth of steps back in my career. Re-starting it, so to speak, in a positive environment and surrounded by a forces of power that only the truest  of friendships and love of family can provide.

So today I dedicate 2014 to Family and Friendship and look to 2015 to be a year of love. One in which I give all my support back to you in full force.

Thank you for the cards, notes, and gifts you’ve sent  or emailed me throughout the year, and thank you for inviting me to witness some of the most life-changing events of your lives, but most of all thank you for your friendship.

Love me to all of you!

Leave a Reply

